Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman Review SPOILERS

Vegeance Road Cover     I gave Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman a 4/5 star rating on Goodreads when I finished it last night. I bought this book awhile ago and never picked it up because I was too scared that I wouldn’t like it. I don’t tend to go for and wild west/ historical novels like at all so I don’t even know why I bought it besides the actual cover(which is beautiful). I was actually genuinely surprised by how much I liked it. Maybe it’s just because I’ve been reading a lot of  dystopians. But either way it was a great read.

The reason it wasn’t a five star read was because I felt like sometimes the author just killed people to kill people… and yeah I know it was the wild west but it was just overkill it felt like. And the main character who is still a teenager didn’t even feel very bad about killing a couple innocent people, like if that were me then I wouldn’t know how to handle myself. Idk I just felt like there were one or two murders more than need be.

I liked the main character but all she ever worried about most of the time was getting revenge on her dad. Like it became to where it was getting annoying. I was okay with the Colton brothers but they weren’t my favorite guys in a story. Will dying was sad but it wasn’t heartbreaking, and Jesse honestly should’ve been the one to die if the author wanted us to shed a tear or two. I loved mutt and silver though, they were some pretty cool animals, I think I actually freaked out more when Kate lost the first horse than any other moment in the story(including the plot twist)

Other than that I like the story. It was well written and the style of writing actually made you feel like you were with the characters in the west. After reading this book I’m actualy excited for Retribution Rails to come out in November. This story changed my opinion on books that take place in the wild west which is never a bad thing. I will recommend this to any one looking for a good summer read. If you liked this post and want to see more than make sure to follow me to see more where this came from.

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? Did I leave out your favorite part? What should I read next? Leave your thoughts down below!

Leave a Reply

