Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken Review SPOILERS

Never-Fade-by-Alexandra-BrackenI gave Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken a 4/5 stars on Goodreads. It got one more star than the previous book because is was a way better read than the first in my opinion. We were able to explore the characters more because we weren’t so worried about the world building as much and got to see the characters change. I’m super excited to continue on with the last book in the series and will hopefully be reading after I finish Cress.

Don’t get me wrong, I understood Rudy’s decision in erasing Liam’s memories but it didn’t make it any more painful every time Alexandra Bracken surprised you with a character coming back and showing how excited Ruby was and not till four paragraphs later you learn it’s not Liam. Way to go with the suspense. But I was super excited when Chubs showed up(still book two and I still envision him a little chubby because of his nickname, PLEASE tell me I’m not the only one who has issues wrapping my mind around this lol).

Being able to see Ruby’s shift in mindset after fighting the red from project Jamboree was amazing, she became so confident in her power and was owning it. Even when she took down the fake slip kid it was so badass. And I get her fears on becoming like Chancy, so getting to hear her worries made her character all the more real to me. After all of her (really cool btw) stunts and taking back over the fake camp, it made her more relatable and reminded us that she is still a teenager, not some superhero trying to save the world.

When they got to Liam and he was sick I was just like okay… what length is she going to go to in order to save him. But when she broke into the hanger it was so hard for me to follow the scene, t first it seemed like she got stabbed in the leg but then it was just almost ignored until she got to the tree. Being that I felt that scene would’ve been less confusing I took off a star, it was an action packed scene, but it just could’ve been written so much better and made it something that would’ve kept me gripped to the book.

I still don’t fully understand how Liam got all his memories back, like there was almost as if there wasn’t any trigger to it and then it just happened. I mean I was so excited that he could remember, and it was a bummer that he became super angry with her, but I just didn’t feel like Liam explained it well. Hopefully it will be further explained in the next book, espically after ruby mentioned her parents. I wonder if they remember her?

Honestly, I did’t really care about the fake slip kid, like yeah he treated the kids worse than clancy but he was so much easier to take over his camp than clancys. Other than the Red from Clany’s project there wasn’t anything that memorable about the place. The biggest part of the book for me was near the ending where the building collapsed after all the bombings happenned. I was so caught up in the main group from the first book not dying, that it wasn’t until Jude died that it actully hit me that I loved all the characters from her team.

Last minute thoughts that didn’t hit me until the end of writing this review lol:

WHAT ABOUT WHEN WE FOUND OUT LIAMS BROTHER IS A RED!  OR WHAT ABOUT WHEN WE ALL THOUGHT CLANCY WAS DEAD AND THEN HE WASN’T! OR WHEN RUBY HAS THE CURE AND PULLED IT OUT IN FRONT OF CLANCY RIGHT AFTER HE SAID HE DESTROYED IT!

Overall I really liked this book and am estatic to continue on in the series. If you enjoyed this post and want to see more like it make sure to follow me to get a notifcation every time I post. What should I read next? What are you currently reading? Have you read this book yet? What was your opinion of it if you have?

Leave a Reply

