Cress by Marissa Meyer Review SPOILERS

Cress_Cover     I gave Cress by Marissa Meyer a 3/5 star rating on Goodreads. I liked this book and is probably the second best book of the series(first is cinder) and was an amazing read. But it wasn’t the best book that I’ve ever read so that’s why it’s not 5/5 sadly.

I liked how Marissa Meyer doesn’t just forget the characters from the first book and how they all come together as a team, but at some point all the POV’s just became too much. There was always too much time in between the characters that every time we started a new chapter it was almost as if I was reintroducing myself to a new world which is why it took so long for me to get through. It’s so much easier for me to follow a dystopian book as long as there aren’t too many different characters for me to follow (que me thinking about the second game of thrones I still haven’t finished even though there is only 100 pages left of it).

I CALLED Sybil coming last-minute the whole time, like of course something would go wrong. I didn’t see Thorne going blind though but I think it was a great addition because it really allowed Cress and Captain Thorne to bond in a way that wouldn’t have been possible if he had his sight.

Iko. Was. So. Funny.  The scene where she got her body was so great and seeing how much human like it made her was even better. Near the end of the book there was that big fight between Sybil and Cinder, when Iko went to stop Wolf and he pulled her off his back by the neck make me cringe so hard. But all was resolved when they were back on the ship and Cinder was fixing her up, that moment when Kai came in and she was screaming like “Don’t look at me… Don’t let him see me like this” has me laughing out loud. Hoping to read Wires and Nerves as soon as I finish the series!

When I got to the part where we met Winter I kept reading her as like an eight year old because she was going a little crazy from not using her magic. And how about the fact that she hasn’t used her magic in twelve years, maybe it’s because she’s seen how Levana is or maybe Levana did something crazy to her and she vowed to no longer use her magic so she would be more willing to help Cinder. Either way I’m so ready to read the next book!

Okay so here are some theories that I have for Winter…

  • Winter helps overthrow Queen Levana
  • Someone dies (Maybe Jacin?)
  • Jacin is Winters love interest
  • Kai and Cinder get married

Here are some questions I have for Winter…

  • How old exactly is Winter(the may have mentioned it but I was so excited that I may not have payed attention)?
  • Will Scarlet get like a really cool bionic finger?
  • If you start using your magic again do you stop being crazy or is it permanent?

As always with this series I’m excited to move onto the next book. If you liked this post and want to see more where this came from don’t forget to follow me! Have you read this book yet? Did you like it? Anything else you think I missed worth mentioning?

Leave a Reply

