In the Afterlight By Alexandra Bracken Review SPOILERS

download     I gave In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken a 4/5 stars on Goodreads. It was a great ending to this series and just gave me the most feels out of all of the books.

Getting to read about how far these kids have come since the first book was so nice. It wasn’t actually until this book that I finally got an idea of how bad these camps were. The first two books always seemed like yeah the camps are bad but we don’t really talk about them all that much. Until we started seeing the videos of the testing and how badly a multitude of these kids were affected was when it really hit me.

The entire time I kept thinking like “oh maybe Clancy has some redeeming qualities and they will be brought out in the end and he’ll help us break into Thurmond”…… NOPE. And as much as it surprised me it was refreshing. Most of the books that we read the “evil villain” or the “morally wrong” character does one or two things that actually helps a lot and it’s a version of their redemption chapter. But the fact that until the very end he is a pain in the butt was actually really nice. And maybe I’m not explaining it the best I can, but it’s like that one character who everyone assumes is that last-minute save character, but never is.

I didn’t give the book a 5/5 stars just because it wasn’t the best book I’ve read(and trust me I’m really picky) but I would say I did have a small debate on whether I should give it a full star rating. Overall I would recommend this series to anyone and I’m so glad I took the time to go back to this series because I never finished it and honestly was bugging me because I knew the series had so much potential.

If you liked this post and want to see more like this post make sure to follow me! Have you read this book? If so what did you think of it? What were your favorite scenes? What should I read next? Anything I forgot to mention?

Leave a Reply

